Trying to come up with ideas for tea can be hard, my daughter loves my chicken pasta bake, a family one from Tescos works out to be £5. Working out the costing of mine is around £3.75-£4, mainly because I use free range chicken breast (thanks to Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and my daughter seeing a clip on breakfast tv, but thats another story!)

So apart from chicken breast, you need pasta (I tend to use Conchiglie), a jar of tomato Passata, packet of Bolognese mix and grated cheese. Cook the pasta as usual, while that is cooking, fry the chicken until cooked. Drain the pasta and put back into the saucepan, add the chicken, tomato passata and Bolognese mix, you may need to add a touch of water if too thick, then transfer into an oven proof dish and cover with grated cheese. Cook until cheese is melted, approx 10 mins. Can be dished up by itself or with a salad or some vegetables. Feeds approx 4 people.

My daughter has tried shop bought but prefers mums home cook version.

